IHBC logo

The mark of the conservation professional



David MacDonald

David McDonald is a heritage consultant, specialising in training other built environment professionals. He was, until late 2011 Conservation and Design Team Leader at the Royal Borough Kensington, a post he held for over twenty years. David previously worked as a town planner at the London Borough of Camden during which time he completed the Diploma in Conservation at the Architectural Association. Formerly a member of the Association of Conservation Officers, he joined the IHBC at its inception and has been Chair of its London Branch since 2004.

email: chair@ihbc.org.uk

Lone Le Vay
Vice Chair

Lone Le Vay is a retired chartered architect who worked primarily in the public sector providing specialist conservation, design and urban design advice. She most recently managed the Design and Historic Environment team at Chichester District Council and is a Fellow of the RSA.

email: vicechair@ihbc.org.uk

Jo Evans

Jo Evans is an associate director at WYG Consulting and has held a number of conservation posts in local authorities in Surrey and Hampshire. She was chair of the IHBC from 2010 to 2013. Prior to that she was the membership secretary and the chair of the Membership & Ethics Committee, following on from holding posts on branch and other national committees.

email: ihbcsecretary@ihbc.org.uk

Jill Kerry

Jill Kerry BSc DAAS IHBC is a chartered architect and has worked exclusively in conservation for over 20 years. After working in the public sector as a senior conservation architect she now works freelance in the private sector. She is ‚Äčalso ‚Äča trustee of the Ulster Historic Churches Trust.

email: treasurer@ihbc.org.uk

Andrew Shepherd
Chair of Membership and Ethics Committee

Andrew Shepherd is the Principal of Andrew Shepherd, Architect, Sheffield. A Chartered Architect and surveyor, he also has a postgraduate diploma in building conservation. His projects over the past 40 years include Grade I listed buildings and Scheduled Ancient Monuments. He is an Inspecting Architect on the approved list of Architects for the Anglican Dioceses of Leeds, Derby, Sheffield and Southwell and is a former Parsonage Houses Surveyor in the Diocese of Sheffield. He was involved in the setting up of the Edinburgh Group and Caseworker for SPAB, having formerly served as a member of their Guardians’ Committee. He is a member of the ICOMOS-UK Education Committee.

He has thirty years’ experience of dispute resolution, Expert Witness in Building Defects, Professional Negligence and other construction related disputes having acted as Arbitrator, Mediator and Conciliator in building disputes.

He has extensive teaching experience, in the UK, notably on the Architectural Association Postgraduate Building Conservation Course 2008 -15 (latterly the Director 2008-15), and abroad. He has been involved in heritage training programmes in Kosovo, Bosnia-Herzogovina, Serbia, Albania and Transylvania in Romania, including 2-week courses by young professionals and students where he lectured in the mornings followed by practical work under the direction of local master craftsmen (Transylvania Trust and Cultural Heritage Without Borders – both Europa Nostra winners).

Andrew is a Past President, Secretary and Education Officer of the Ecclesiastical Architects and Surveyors Association and was Past Convenor of Conservation Courses Directors' Forum for all UK Postgraduate Conservation Courses.

email: membership@ihbc.org.uk

Dave Chetwyn
Chair of Communications and Outreach Committee

Dave Chetwyn MA, MRTPI, IHBC, FInstLM is Managing Director/Partner of Urban Vision Enterprise CIC, a social enterprise providing professional services in planning, regeneration and community-led development. He is also Managing Director of D2H Land Planning Development Limited. Dave is a Design Council Built Environment Expert, an Associate of the Consultation Institute and a member of the National Planning Forum board of Directors.

Former roles include Head of Planning Aid England, Chair of the Historic Towns Forum (UK membership body), Chair of the Institute of Historic Building Conservation (UK professional body) and a team leader in local Government. He has also been a consultant heritage specialist for Crossrail Thames Tunnels section and has acted as a neighbourhood plan independent examiner.

Dave is the author of the Locality Neighbourhood Planning Roadmap Guide and other Locality guidance on neighbourhood planning and community-led development. He drafted parts of BS7913 (Guide to the Conservation of Historic Buildings).

Dave has advised various Government organisations, working groups, reviews and Parliamentary select committees on planning, regeneration, economic development, heritage, urban design, and community engagement. He has extensive leadership and management experience with UK, national and local organisations and a strong track record in third-sector organisational development.

email: communications@ihbc.org.uk

Crispin Edwards

Crispin Edwards

Sheila Stones

Sheila Stones

Joanna Saady

Joanna Saady

Scotland Representative

Anna Grant

Northern Ireland Representative

Desmond Cairns

Wales Representative

Peter Wood

© Copyright IHBC

Registered and Business Office: Jubilee House, High Street, Tisbury, Wiltshire SP3 6HA
Registered as a Charity in England & Wales: No1061593. Registered as a Charity in Scotland: No. SC041945. Listed in Northern Ireland.
Company Limited by Guarantee; Registered in England No 3333780.

Contact us