SOUTH WEST BRANCH
Avon, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Scilly Isles, Somerset and Wiltshire Branch

    Chair - Maureen Pearce mppearce@teinbridge.gov.uk
    Council Rep - James Webb james.webbfhs@ntlworld.com
    Immediate Past Chairman - Ian Lund ian_lund@bathnes.gov.uk
    Secretary - Kate Baxter-Hunter southwest@ihbc.org.uk
    Treasurer - Alyson Cooper ACooper@cornwall.gov.uk
    Bulletin Editor - Alex Marsh alexm.marsh@btinternet.com
    Membership Secretary - Liz Smith-Gibbons LSmith-Gibbons@swindon.gov.uk
    Private Practice - Malcolm James* mj@ccons.co.uk
    English Heritage - Caroline Power caroline.power@english-heritage.org.uk
    Policy/Consultations - Adron Duckworth vinneycross@hotmail.com
    Colin Ellis* colinellis@weymouth.gov.uk
    Events/Training - Vacant


    County Reps

    Cornwall + Scilly Isles - Alyson Cooper ACooper@cornwall.gov.uk
    Devon inc Plymouth & Torbay - Maureen Pearce mppearce@teinbridge.gov.uk
    Dorset - James Webb james.webbfhs@ntlworld.com
    Somerset - Greg Venn Greg.venn@southsomerset.gov.uk
    Wiltshire inc Swindon - Helen Garside helen.garside@wiltshire.gov.uk
    ‘Cuba’ inc Bristol & Bath - Kingsley Fulbrook kingsley.fulbrook@bristol.gov.uk
    Gloucestershire + S Glos. - Stephen Bateman bateman505@btinternet.com

    Please note that posts with * have yet to be confirmed.


    Mike Wye training day
    June 13th 2014

    Venue: Buckland Filleigh Sawmills
    Buckland Filleigh
    Beaworthy
    Devon EX21 5RN

    Location directions are on the web site - http://www.mikewye.co.uk/index.htm

    Programme
    9.15 - Course assembles for refreshments and introductions

    9.30 Traditional lime materials –
    - lime putty and Natural Hydraulic Limes - strengths and specifications
    - choice of sands for bedding, pointing, rendering and plastering
    - role of pozzolans
    - types of hair
    There would follow a series of practical sessions where the principles and problem solving are discussed whilst working on actual demonstration walls.

    10.00 Building and repair on stone, mortar choice, techniques , protection

    11.00 Pointing stonework and brickwork - preparation of joints, tools and mortars, pointing techniques, protection

    11.45 Kreidezeit mineral water repellant for stone or brick

    12.00 Repairing cob structures, mass cob vs cob blocks, selecting sub-soils, use of straw, techniques, protection

    12.30 Buffet Lunch at the Devils Stone Inn, Shebbear

    1.30 External rendering with lime mortars including ecoCORK, choice of materials, tools and techniques, protection

    2.30 Internal plastering with lime plasters, choice of materials, riven vs sawn lath, tools and techniques,

    3.30 Limewashing and silicate paint - materials, preparation, techniques, protection

    4pm Practical Day finishes.