NORTH WEST BRANCH

Cheshire, Greater Manchester, Isle of Man, Lancashire and Merseyside
North West Branch logo

    Branch Officers

    Chair: Paul Hartley paul.hartley@stockport.gov.uk
    Vice Chair: David Hayes dhayes99@hotmail.com
    Secretary: Kirsten Ryan kirstenryan@hotmail.co.uk
    Treasurer: Andrew Tegg Andrew.Tegg@dppukltd.com
    Consultation Co-ordinator: Ian Lucas ianlucas@bcrnet.eu
    Newsletter Co-Editor: Jack Haw jack.haw@turley.co.uk
    Newsletter Co-Editor: Nick Grimshaw ngrimshaw@heritagearchitecture.co.uk
    Events Chair: Katie Wray klu.wray@hotmail.co.uk
    Membership Secretary: Jason Kennedy info@townscape.org.uk
    National Representative: Crispin Edwards northwest@ihbc.org.uk
    NWHEF Representative: Paul Mason paulm@croftgoode.co.uk

    County Reps:

    Cheshire:
    Dave Hayes dhayes99@hotmail.com
    Jerry Spencer jerryspencer@btinternet.com

    Isle of Man
    Ashley Pettit ashley@apa-iom.com

    Merseyside
    Chris Griffiths chris.griffiths@liverpool.gov.uk
    Graham Arnold arnold.graham.r@googlemail.com

    Lancashire
    Ruth Garratt ruth.garratt@canalrivertrust.org.uk
    Paul Mason paulm@croftgoode.co.uk

    Greater Manchester
    ´┐╝Marion Barter marion.barter@architecturalhistory.com
    Kate Kendall katekendallconservation@yahoo.com



    IHBC North West Branch Day Conference

    Digital Heritage: new technology for the historic environment
    Wednesday 16th October 2013
    The Co-operative Group Head Office
    1 Angel Square, Manchester, M60 0AG


    conference website




    cover

    Heritage and the High Street

    IHBC North West Branch
    Day Conference
    Wednesday 17th October 2012

    Liverpool Medical Institution
    114 Mount Pleasant
    Liverpool, L35 SR

    Website and presentations: http://heritagehighstreet.ihbc.org.uk







    Historic Buildings: Local Action

    IHBC Reception and North West Branch Day Conference
    Friday 23rd September 2011
    Museum of Science & Industry Liverpool Road, Manchester

    The annual touring Council and linked conference of the IHBC on 22-23 September will be in Manchester, as the IHBC’s North West (NW) Branch leads in arranging a reception and, on 23 September, its respected annual Branch conference, themed around Localism.

    Conference report

    Click links to view presentations (more to follow)
    These are large files, please be patient if you have a slow connection

    Setting the Scene: Localism in the Historic Environment
    Empowering Local Communities - Chris Smith OBE, English Heritage
    What is localism and what does it really mean for heritage? - Dave Chetwyn, DJC1 Planning
    Asset Transfer - Hugh Rollo, Development Trust Association

    Local Management of Historic Assets
    Developing the Civic Voice - Tony Burton, Civic Voice
    Action for Pride of Place - Professor Ian Wray, Oxton Society
    Social Enterprise and Sustainable Communities - Elaine Griffiths MBE, Gorton Monastery
    Compiling a Local List - Michael Scammell

    Project Delivery
    Funding Local Action - Sara Hilton, HLF
    Raising the Stakes - David Trevis-Smith, UK APT



    IHBC NW Branch Day Conference
    Liverpool: Understanding Significance
    Wednesday 20th October 2010

    Liverpool Medical Institute
    A day conference organised by the IHBC North West Branch supported by English Heritage.

    Conference report by Keith Parsons, Principal Lecturer, University of Central Lancashire (click for PDF)

    Click links for presentations

    Morning :
    1. The significance of “significance” - How we define the terms we use, and the importance of using them Steven Bee, Director of Planning & Development, English Heritage Presentation
    2. Managing Built Heritage : Different Approaches to Assessing Cultural Significance Derek Worthing, Principal Lecturer at the University of West England Presentation For further information please contact Christopher Pound by email at : christopherpound@btconnect.com

    After Coffee :
    1. Significance in Context : Some things matter more than others Marion Barter, Architectural History Practice Presentation
    2. Assessing Significance : from the left field Christopher Pound, Consultant (presentation forthcoming)
    3. Understanding the Unknown : Significance of the Staffordshire Hoard Stephen Dean, Staffordshire County Archaeologist Presentation

    Afternoon
    1. The Local Authority Approach : putting PPS5 into perspective and practice Ian Bond, Conservation Manager, West Lancashire Borough Council Presentation
    2. Assessing Significance : some contentious case studies Garry Miller, Architectural Historian Presentation



    Facing the Energy Crunch:
    Energy Efficiency for Historic Buildings

    Wednesday 7th October 2009
    Liverpool Medical Institute

    A day conference organised by the IHBC North West Branch supported by English Heritage.

    How Traditional Buildings Perform: ‘Breathing Buildings’ Alan Gardner BSc - Alan Gardner Associates

    Renewable Energy and Microgeneration Caroline Cattini - English Heritage

    Keeping on the Right side of the Regulations David McDonald - Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

    Quart into a Pint Pot James Sanderson - Purcell, Miller, Tritton

    Reframing Climate Change: How recent emission trends & the latest science change the debate - Kevin Anderson University of Manchester and East Anglia & Alice Bows University of Manchester

    Energy Efficiency for Historic Buildings: Existing Building Survival Strategies Mike Robinson - Indipendent Buildings Consultant

    The National Trust’s approach to energy efficiency in historic buildings Dr Nigel Blades - The National Trust for England, Wales and Northern Ireland

    Low carbon Georgian Poppy Potter - National Communities Resource Centre, Trafford Hall

    The Real Energy Performance of Traditional Buildings Karen Heverin, Oldham MBC contact: karen.heverin@oldham.gov.uk

    IHBC North West Newsletters

    Newsletters of the North West Branch of the Institute of Historic Building Conservation These are graphical images of the Newsletters, if you need a hard copy contact the editor Crispin Edwards at
    nweditor@ihbc.org.uk


    If you cannot see the newsletter below download
    here



    April 2013
    Spring 2011
    Autumn 2010
    Spring 2010
    August 2009
    November 2008
    July 2008
    April 2008
    December 2007
    September 2007
    June 2007
    March 2007
    December 2006
    Autumn 2006
    Summer 2006
    March 2006
    December 2005
    September 2005
    June 2005
    March 2005
    December 2004
    September 2004
    June 2004
    March 2004
    December 2003
    September 2003
    June 2003
    March 2003
    December 2002
    September 2002
    June 2002
    March 2002